Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Johnny WINTER - Saints and Sinners 1974

Johnny WINTER - Saints and Sinners 1974


Johnny Winter's sixth Columbia album was also his second since his comeback from drug addiction. Its predecessor, Still Alive and Well, had been his highest charting effort. Saints & Sinners was just as energetically played, but its mixture of material, including '50s rock & roll oldies like Chuck Berry's "Thirty Days," Larry Williams' "Bony Moronie," and Leiber & Stoller's "Riot in Cell Block #9," recent covers like the Rolling Stones' "Stray Cat Blues," and a couple of originals, was more eclectic than inspired. (Van Morrison completists should note that the album also contains Winter's cover of Morrison's "Feedback on Highway 101," a typical bluesy groove song that Morrison recorded for his 1973 Hard Nose the Highway album but dropped. Winter's is the only released recording of the song.) Abetted by the members of the old Johnny Winter Band -- Rick Derringer, Randy Jo Hobbs, and Richard Hughes -- plus his brother Edgar Winter and Dan Hartman, Winter produced forceful hard rock focused on his searing lead guitar runs and rough-edged voice. It was the less-impressive choice of material that kept this collection from matching its predecessor. Originally released in February, 1974, Saints & Sinners was reissued in February, 1996 with the previously unreleased song "Dirty," a Winter original, added. The slide guitar-and-flute track is not consistent with the rest of the album, but it is interesting to hear. Wonder who played the flute?
By William Ruhlmann, All Music Guide.
Finally we got Johnny's '74 Soul-Rocker Saints & Sinners on CD and for all you Johnny lovers out there there is a special
surprise! An unreleased bonus cut "Dirty" from the albums sessions is included! One thing I noticed immediately was how
crisp & clear this Lp's master tapes transfered to CD. Man! Listening to this CD for a moment you'd think you got the guitar
slinger right there in your room. All the original art has been faithfully restored and just wait till you hear "Thirty Days", the
Soul-Rocker "Blinded By Love" and the super Funky "Feedback On Highway 101"... your socks will be knocked off!
By  Jay Siekierski.
Barbara Massey- Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Alan Rubin- Trumpet
John Smith- Saxophone
Jon Smith- Saxophone
Lew DelGatto- Sax (Tenor)
Bobby Caldwell- Percussion, Drums
Sing-Sing Singers- Vocals (Background), Choir, Chorus
Tasha Thomas- Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Randy Brecker- Trumpet
Louis del Gatto- Saxophone, Sax (Tenor)
Edgar Winter- Organ, Sax (Alto), Arp Strings, Tack Piano, Clavinet, Vocals (Background), Vocals, Saxophone, Piano, Keyboards, Synthesizer
Lani Groves- Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Jo Jo Gunne- Percussion, Handclapping
Carl Hall- Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Randy Jo Hobbs- Bass
Richard Hughes- Drums
Rick Derringer- Synthesizer, Arp Strings, Rhymes, Producer, Guitar (Rhythm), Bass, Guitar
Dan Hartman Bass, Guitar, Vocals, Vocals (Background), Drums Kansas Percussion, Handclapping
Johnny Winter- Guitar, Vocals, Main Performer, Harmonica
01. Stone County 3:32
02. Blinded by Love 4:28
03. Thirty Days 3:00
04. Stray Cat Blues 4:15
05. Bad Luck Situation 2:49
06. Rollin' Cross the Country 4:32
07. Riot in Cell Block #9 3:09
08. Hurtin' So Bad 4:38
09. Bony Moronie 2:37
10. Feedback on Highway 101 4:24
11. Dirty 4:00

No comments:

Post a Comment