Sunday, December 27, 2009

Airto - Free 1972

Airto - Free 1972


Airto Moreira's first album for Creed Taylor's nascent jazz-fusion label CTI contributed magnificently to Taylor's modus operandi--expanding the boundaries of jazz to include elements of indigenous cultures, rock, and even classical modes. FREE is Airto in full, unencumbered flight.

His version of Chick Corea's own genre-defining classic "Return to Forever" sets the listener adrift in a choppy sea of vocal atmospheres, crests of electric piano, and Airto's simmering squall lines of percussion. The title track conjures the Brazilian rainforest with a thick underbrush of rhythm, tribal howls, and chatter. Airto and his cohorts play a wonderful array of ceremonial woodblocks, wood flutes, and other natural Brazilian noisemakers. Accompanying the percussionist are such stellar figures as Chick Corea, Keith Jarrett, Stanley Clarke, Ron Carter, and George Benson.

2004 remastered reissue of 1972 album from the most high-profile Latin jazz percussionist of the 1970s. Soloists include George Benson, Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, Ron Carter, Hubert Laws, Joe Farrell & Airto's wife Flora Purim. Eight tracks including three previously unreleased bonus tracks, 'So Tender', 'Jequie', & 'Creek (Arroio)'. CTI.
Jazz percussionist Airto Moreira's breakthrough 1972 album FREE included an incredible all-star jazz line-up, highlighted by Chick Corea, George Benson, Stanley Clarke, and Keith Jarrett.
From CD Universe.
Don Sebesky- Arranged By [Brass]
Ron Carter- Bass
Chick Corea- Piano
Stanley Clarke- Bass
George Benson- Guitar
Hubert Laws- Flute (tracks: A2 to B2)
Airto- Flute [Wood] (tracks: A2, B1)
Airto- Percussion, Vocals
Flora Purim- Vocals
Keith Jarrett- Piano (tracks: A2, B2)
Joe Farrell- Soprano Sax  (tracks: A1, A2, B2, B3)
Garnett Brown- Trombone (tracks: A1, A2) ,
Joe Wallace- Trombone (tracks: A1, A2) ,
Wayne Andre- Trombone (tracks: A1, A2)
Alan Rubin- Trumpet, Flugelhorn  (tracks: A1, A2)
Burt Collins- Trumpet, Flugelhorn (tracks: A1, A2)
Mel Davis- Trumpet, Flugelhorn (tracks: A1, A2)
A1. Return To Forever 10:15
       Composed By - Chick Corea
       Electric Bass - Stan Clarke
       Electric Piano - Chick Corea
       Flute [Alto And Bass], Flute [Piccolo] - Joe Farrell
       Vocals - Airto , Flora
A2. Flora´s Song 8:30
       Composed By - Flora Purim
       Flute [Alto And Bass], Flute [Piccolo] - Joe Farrell
       Guitar - Jay Berliner
B1. Free 10:35
       Composed By - Airto Moreira
       Vocals - Airto , Flora
B2. Lucky Southern 2:35
       Composed By - Keith Jarrett
       Flute, Flute [Alto] - Joe Farrell
       Guitar - George Benson
B3. Creek (Arroio) 6:00
       Composed By - Victor Brazil
       Electric Piano - Nelson Ayres (2)
       Flute - Joe Farrell
       Piano - Chick Corea

No comments:

Post a Comment