Friday, December 18, 2009

Powerhouse - Lovin' Machine 1988 and Night Life 1975

Powerhouse - Lovin' Machine 1988 and Night Life 1975


Night Life;This is Tom Principato’s first recording with Powerhouse, his legendary horn-driven band from Boston.
Original album recorded for Aladdin Records Oct. 23, 24 & 27, 1975 at Track Studios, Silver Spring, MD.
This blues/soul/roots album was recorded more than a decade ago, and is being released nationally for the first time. A now-defunct East Coast combo, Powerhouse was led by vocalist George Leh, whose reedy tenor is somewhat reminiscent of B.B. King's.

"Lovin' Machine" is a practical encyclopedia of how to play R&B, blues and early rock. Ray Charles' "Hard Times" may be the best example. Leh's impassioned vocals will rattle the china, and Ben Kay's piano intro would move Brother Ray himself. "Sad Hours," the only instrumental, lets guitarist Tom Principato and harpist Pierre Beauregard stretch out. And tenor saxophonist Dave Birkin wails a haunting sound throughout the record.

Powerhouse's covers of "Flip, Flop and Fly," "Sweet Little Woman," "Stompin' at the Savoy" and Leiber-Stoller's "Saved" make this one of the best regional albums since George Thorogood wandered out of New Jersey 15 years ago.
By Jim Trageser.
Bass - Stephen Jacobs
Drums - Richard Murray (2)
Engineer - Obie O'Brien
Engineer [Remix] - Bill McCullough
Guitar, Producer [Remix Produced By] - Tom Principato
Handclaps - Greg Jones (2)
Harmonica - Pierre Beauregard
Piano - Ben Kay (2)
Saxophone [Tenor] - Dave Birkin
Vocals - George Leh
Lovin’ Machine 1988

A1. Lovin' Machine  
A2. Sweet Little Woman  
A3. Hard Times  
A4. Stompin' at the Savoy  
A5. Flip, Flop, & Fly  
B1. Sad Hours  
B2. Fever  
B3. Saved

Night Life 1975

A1. Powerhouse 2:05
A2. Lovin' Machine 2:23 
A3. Bloodshot Eyes 3:54 
A4. Hard Times 4:37
A5. Quiet Whiskey 2:35
A6. Nosey Joe (Vocals - Bullmoose Jackson) 3:15      
B1. Safronia B (Vocals - Tom Principato) 2:20      
B2. Roller Coaster(Guitar [2nd Guitar] - Joseph Warren)  3:25     
B3. Jailbird 4:24   
B4. Shut Your Mouth 2:40 
B5. Night Life 6:08

No comments:

Post a Comment