Sunday, December 20, 2009

Muddy WATERS - Real Folk Blues 1966

Muddy WATERS - Real Folk Blues 1966
LP 1968 Issue-MAR S-3217


Released in 1966, at the height of the popularity of the blues among young white audiences, this aptly-titled 12-track compilation delivers exactly what it promises. Recorded at the legendary Chess Studios at 2120 S. Michigan Ave in Chicago between 1947 and 1964, this collection captures the best work of singer-guitarist Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield), possibly the greatest of the Chicago-style (meaning electric and most often accompanied by a full band) blues performers. Muddy is here backed by such legends as pianist Otis Spann
and harmonica player Little Walter.
Muddy Waters- (Vocals, Guitar);
Jimmy Rogers, Pat Hare, Pee Wee Madison, Sammy Lawhorn- (Guitar);
Otis Spann, Sunnyland Slim- (Piano);
Little Walter- (Harmonica);
Willie Dixon, Andrew Stephenson, Ransom Knowling, Big Crawford- (Bass);
Francey Clay, Odie Payne- (Drums).
A1. Mannish Boy   2:53
A2. Screamin' and Crying   3:03
A3. Just to Be With You   3:12
A4. Walking in the Park   2:39
A5. Walking Blues   2:53
A6. Canary Bird   2:42
B1. The Same Thing   2:40
B2. Gypsy Woman   2:32
B3. Rollin' & Tumblin'   2:57
B4. Forty Days & Forty Nights   2:50
B5. Little Geneva   2:45
B6. You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had   2:55

No comments:

Post a Comment