Saturday, December 26, 2009

Bud POWELL - Ultimate Bud Powell 1998

Bud POWELL - Ultimate Bud Powell 1998


Although serious fans and collectors will have little use for the disc, Ultimate Bud Powell is a solid collection of 12 highlights from the pianist's Verve recordings as selected by Chick Corea. For the curious neophyte, the disc offers a good overview of Corea's time at the label, featuring the pianist in a variety of different settings, including combos with Percy Heath, Max Roach, Kenny Clarke, Ray Brown and Art Taylor. Certainly, the disc should be thought of as an introduction, not the final word, but on that level it works very well. Among the featured numbers are "Celia," "I'll Keep Loving You," "Strictly Confidential," "Oblivion," "Hallucinations," "Buttercup," "Fantasy in Blue," "Willow Grove"
and "Elegy."
By Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide.
Bud Powell- (Piano);
Ray Brown, Percy Heath, George Duvivier- (Bass);
Max Roach, Art Taylor, Kenny Clarke, Osie Johnson- (Drums).
01. Tempus Fugit 2:28
02. Celia 3:00
03. I'll Keep Loving You 2:43
04. Strictly Confidential 3:10
05. So Sorry, Please 3:17
06. Parisian Thoroughfare 2:31
07. Oblivion 2:11
08. Dusk In Sandi 2:15
09. Hallucinations 2:27
10. The Fruit 3:19
11. Buttercup 3:02
12. Fantasy In Blue 3:07
13. Mediocre 2:58
14. Dance Of The Infidels 2:19
15. Willow Grove (Willow Groove) 4:26
16. Elegy 2:56

No comments:

Post a Comment