Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Michael BRECKER - Pilgrimage 2007

Michael BRECKER - Pilgrimage 2007


It's impossible to listen to the last album that Michael Brecker recorded before succumbing to cancer without a sense of profound regret at the loss ..  
Full Descriptionof a significant talent. Brecker sounds more soulfully energized than ever on a selection that includes complex workouts such as "Anagram," as well as the beautiful, lyrical "Pilgrimage," the last tune the saxophonist recorded. Joined by an all-star roster that includes the pianists Herbie Hancock and Brad Mehldau, the drummer Jack DeJohnette, and the guitarist Pat Metheny, Brecker gives a thrilling series of performances that encompass the exhilarating "Cardinal Rule," the commercial-sounding "Five Months From Midnight," and the valedictory title track.
Clocking in at nearly 80 minutes, this posthumous release comprises the last recordings Michael Brecker made before his untimely death in January 2007. Battling the debilitating effects of leukemia, he sought comfort, strength, and transcendence through music. The all-star lineup on Pilgrimage, which includes Herbie Hancock, Brad Mehldau, Pat Metheny, Jack DeJohnette, and John Patitucci, has worked in various combinations over the past four decades. Here, they perform with the compelling group interplay of a longstanding ensemble. Brecker's nine compositions mark the first time he made an album solely of his own material. This is further testament to the creative drive that helped sustain him during his physical decline. From balladry to classic post-bop reveries, Brecker has fashioned one of his finest albums, and certainly his most personal work. The disc closes with the title track, which was also--fittingly--the last number he recorded. Never maudlin, this music and these fine musicians celebrate the power of music to connect human beings to one another, note by note, measure by measure.
By David Greenberger.
Michael Brecker- (Tenor Sax, EWI);
Pat Metheny- (Guitar);
Herbie Hancock, Brad Mehldau- (Piano);
John Patitucci- (Bass);
Jack DeJohnette- (Drums).
01. The Mean Time 6:56
02. Five Months from Midnight 7:41
03. Anagram 10:11
04. Tumbleweed 9:39
05. When Can I Kiss You Again? 9:45
06. Cardinal Rule 7:34
07. Half Moon Lane 7:18
08. Loose Threads 8:36
09. Pilgrimage 10:02

No comments:

Post a Comment