Saturday, December 12, 2009

David SANBORN - Time Again 2003

David SANBORN - Time Again 2003


Master saxophonist David Sanborn makes an astounding label debut with Time Again, and once again reminds his fans that he is firmly established as one of jazz's best alto saxophonists. Joined by an all-star ensemble of master musicians that includes Russell Malone on guitar, Steve Gadd on drums, Christian McBride on bass, Mike Mainieri on vibraphone, and Randy Brecker on trumpet and flugelhorn, among others, David Sanborn delves deep into his seemingly never-ending repertoire to bring his distinctive sound to a variety of pop and jazz standards. Opening with a super-funky rendition of "Comin' Home," Sanborn reveals the culmination of hard work and staying power with a powerful statement of the melody which seamlessly segues into awesome solos taken by Mainieri and McBride. They get even better on "Cristo Redentor," offering listeners another side of this infamous gospel jazz piece made famous by Donald Byrd. With soulful, innovative lines and a nighttime groove, Sanborn plays a reflective, sincere set that is destined to revive this song to the level not heard since the '70s, when it was the theme song for several late-night radio programs. Ditto for "Harlem Nocturne," which has become one of the most recognized television theme songs in the past decade. Sanborn, however, lifts it to another level with his dynamic 21st century outlook and brilliant improvisations. The all-masterful Time Again has something for everyone. It's romantic, it's funky, it's laid-back, and it's definitely one that should be in your music collection. In a sense, David Sanborn has pulled off one of the best recordings of his career.
By Paula Edelstein. AMG.
Mike Mainieri- Vibraphone
Christian McBride- Bass
Arnold McCuller- Vocals
Luis Quintero- Percussion
Caryl Paisner- Cello
Valerie Pinkston- Vocals
Russell Malone- Guitar
Don Alias- Percussion
Randy Brecker- Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Alfred Brown- Viola
Lawrence Feldman- Flute (Alto), Flute (Bass)
Steve Gadd- Drums
Lani Groves- Vocals
Olivia Koppell- Viola
Jesse Levy- Cello
Gil Goldstein- Piano, Rhythm Arrangements, Arranger, String Arrangements, Horn Arrangements
David Lasley- Vocals
Ricky Peterson- Synthesizer Programming, Drum Loop, Keyboards, Synthesizer Bass
David Sanborn- Piano, Sax (Alto)
01. Comin' Home Baby (Tucker)  7:12
02. Cristo Redentor (Pearson)  5:47
03. Harlem Nocturne (Hagen)  4:52
04. Man from Mars (Mitchell)  5:02
05. Isn't She Lovely (Wonder)  3:17
06. Sugar (Turrentine)  5:35
07. Tequila (Rio)  5:38
08. Little Flower (Sanborn)  3:38
09. Spider B. (Peterson/Sanborn)  6:29
10. Delia (Sanborn)  4:20

No comments:

Post a Comment