Saturday, February 6, 2010

Chicago Blues Reunion - Buried Alive In The Blues (Live) 2004

Chicago Blues Reunion - Buried Alive In The Blues (Live) 2004
Recorded at FitzGerald’s Nightclub in Berwyn, Illinois in October 2004


The blues is a life force for the Chicago Blues Reunion, a grouping of blues greats who, for five decades, have dominated the genre. Buried Alive In The Blues celebrates this uniquely American art form through the music, words and soul of Barry Goldberg, Nick Gravenites, Sam Lay, Harvey Mandel, Tracy Nelson and Corky Siegel. Their inspiration from and relationships with Paul Butterfield, Mike Bloomfield, The Electric Flag, Bob Dylan, Canned Heat, Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Buddy Guy, Steve Miller, B.B. King and many other giants are explored through evocative performances, oral histories and archive film and stills.
The Chicago Blues Reunion performs 14 live tracks on the CD
Chicago Blues Reunion is a collaboration of Chicago music legends who defined the sound of their generation in the 1960's. Last year, Barry Goldberg, Nick Gravenities, Harvey Mandel, Tracy Nelson, Sam Lay and Corky Siegel joined forces once again and the result is a two disc set "Buried Alive In The Blues". One audio CD and one DVD (60 minute DVD, 30 minutes of music, 30 minutes of interviews with the CBR bandmates plus on screen recollections from Steve Miller, BB King, Eric Clapton, CArlos Santana and others telling the North Side Chicago blues story of the 60's from various perspectives).
In 1969, Chess issued Fathers and Sons, a summit meeting of Chicago's black elders and white blues stars. Today, singer Nick Gravenites, organ/piano man Barry Goldberg, guitarist Harvey Mandel and harp blower Corky Siegel, all sons of that era, are old enough to be fathers themselves. But they were in sharp, seasoned form for this live 2004 homecoming, now a CD/DVD set. This time there's a mother too: Singer Tracy Nelson, who tears into Slim Harpo's "I'm Gonna Miss You Like the Devil" as if she's the one with horns and a pitchfork.
Barry Goldberg - Hammond B3, Wurlitzer electric piano, acoustic piano, background vocals
Harvey Mandel - lead guitar
Nick Gravenites - lead vocals, guitar
Tracy Nelson - lead & background vocals
Corky Siegel - harp, lead vocals
Sam Lay - Drums, lead vocals
Zach Wagner - rhythm guitar, background vocals
Rick Reed - bass
Gary Mallaber - drums, percussion
01. Born In Chicago (Featuring Nick Gravenites)
02. Buried Alive In The Blues (Featuring Nick Gravenites)
03. Walk Away (Featuring Tracy Nelson)
04. Drinking Wine (Featuring Nick Gravenites)
05. GM Boogie (Featuring Barry Goldberg & Harvey Mandel)
06. Left Handed Soul (Featuring Nick Gravenites)
07. Miss You Like The Devil (Featuring Tracy Nelson)
08. All The Help I Can Get (Featuring Tracy Nelson)
09. Death Of Muddy Waters (Featuring Nick Gravenites)
10. Find My Baby (Featuring Sam Lay)
11. New Truck (Featuring Tracy Nelson)
12. King Bee (Featuring Corky Siegel)
13. Snake (Featuring Harvey Mandel)
14. Hound Dog (Featuring Sam Lay)

No comments:

Post a Comment