Friday, February 26, 2010

Earl KING and Roomful of Blues – Glazed 1986

Earl KING and Roomful of Blues – Glazed 1986
BT 1035


Earl King, a native of New Orleans, was a flamboyant performer, singing with bluesy ease and playing guitar solos that curled and sliced across the rolling New Orleans beat. He recorded hundreds of songs that were rooted in both the 12-bar blues and New Orleans lore, with lyrics that could tell wry, compressed stories or come up with wild-eyed imagery. While Earl King performed widely, his songs also traveled by way of other musicians: Jimi Hendrix, who recorded King's ''Come On'' as ''Let the Good Times Roll,'' the Meters, who recorded ''Trick Bag,'' and Professor Longhair, who played piano and had the performer credit on the original 1964 version of King's ''Big Chief,'' although it featured King's vocals and whistling. The Professor Longhair recording and remakes of ''Big Chief'' by performers including Allen Toussaint and Dr. John are still heard every year at Mardi Gras time.
During the 1980's and 90's, King made albums for Black Top Records, including a 1986 collaboration with the band Roomful of Blues, ''Glazed,'' which was named because he made a Tastee Donuts shop his regular office and hangout. ''Glazed'' was nominated for a Grammy Award.
A1. It All Went Down the Drain   4:31
A2. Your Love Was Never There   4:52
A3. Everybody's Got to Cry Sometime   3:07
A4. Love Rent   4:10
A5. Three Can Play the Game   3:33
B1. Iron Cupid   3:11
B2. Somebody's Got a Tail   3:53
B3. I Met a Stranger   3:13
B4. Mardis Gras in New Orleans   3:05
B5. There's Been Some Lonely, Lonely Nights   3:17
B6. One Step Beyond Love   3:37


No comments:

Post a Comment