Tuesday, February 23, 2010

ZZ Top - ZZ Top's First Album 1970

ZZ Top - ZZ Top's First Album 1970
PS 584


ZZ Top's First Album may not be perfectly polished, but it does establish their sound, attitude, and quirks. Simply put, it's a dirty little blues-rock record, filled with fuzzy guitars, barrelhouse rhythms, dirty jokes, and Texan slang. They have a good, ballsy sound that hits at gut level, and if the record's not entirely satisfying, it's because they're still learning how to craft records -- which means that they're still learning pacing as much as they're learning how to assemble a set of indelible material. Too much of this record glides by on its sound, without offering any true substance, but the tracks that really work -- "(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree," "Backdoor Love Affair," "Brown Sugar," and "Goin' Down to Mexico," among them -- show that from their very first record on, ZZ Top was that lil' ol' blues band from Texas.
By Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide.
A1. (Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree   2:29
A2. Brown Sugar   5:22
A3. Squank   2:49
A4. Goin' Down to Mexico   3:23
A5. Old Man   3:32
B1. Neighbor, Neighbor   2:19
B2. Certified Blues   3:28
B3. Bedroom Thang   3:53
B4. Just Got Back From Baby's   4:14
B5. Backdoor Love Affair   2:42


1 comment: