Saturday, February 13, 2010

Julie LONDON - The End of the World 1963

Julie LONDON - The End of the World 1963
LST 7300


The haunting voice of Julie London is showcased on this obscure LP with backing by an orchestra arranged by Ernie Freeman. The brief liner notes do not say anything about the personnel or the exact date, merely predicting that the dozen mostly recent compositions will someday become standards. While little has been heard of "The End of the World," "Our Day Will Come," and "My Coloring Book" since this period, most of the others did in fact catch on. London is typically straightforward and coolly sensuous on such numbers as "Call Me Irresponsible," "I Left My Heart In San Francisco," "Days of Wine and Roses," and "I Remember You" (the only veteran song on the album).
By Scott Yanow. AMG.
Years from now, if you should look back at "the good old days" and think of the "good old songs," you're likely to think of most of the songs in this album, because they are more than just hits of the day. They're among the small percentage of songs which eventually become standards. One of the most important factors in making a pop hit into a standard is the treatment the song gets while it is new. It takes a recording by a superb artist such as Julie London an artist who imparts that special "something" to a melody and lyric to make a song memorable. And certainly, no one does quite as much for a ballad as does Julie, with her soft, sultry voice and her inimitable way of caressing a lyric line. So, have a listen while Julie sings you some of tomorrow's great standards a little ahead of time.
A1. The End of the World 2:42
A2. I Wanna Be Around 1:55
A3. Call Me Irresponsible 2:45
A4. Our Day Will Come 2:12
A5. I Left My Heart in San Fransisco 2:45
A6. Fly Me to the Moon 2:32
B1. Days of Wine and Roses 2:48
B2. I Remember You 2:34
B3. My Coloring Book 3:27
B4. Changes Are 2:58
B5. Slightly Out of Tune (Desafinado) 2:00
B6. The Good Life 2:50

No comments:

Post a Comment