Friday, February 19, 2010

Blue Stew - Stumbling Blocks And Stepping Stones 2000

Blue Stew - Stumbling Blocks And Stepping Stones 2000


Groovin', infectious blues with thought provoking lyrics, 'tastefuly' played by the critically acclaimed Blue Stew.
Blue Stew is a unique and original rockin' blues band from Ventura, CA. with three critically acclaimed CDs released in the USA. Formed in 1994, they have played shows with Little Feat, Duke Robillard, Eddy Clearwater, Roomful of Blues, Larry Carlton, The Blasters, Storyville, Doug Sahm & The Last Real Texas Blues Band.... Their music has had substantial radio play as well as glowing reviews in Blues Revue, Blues Access, L.A. Times, Blues Bytes.
The CD, "Stumbling Blocks & Stepping Stones", was released in September 2000. From that CD, "My Baby's Cookin'" and "Child of the Street" reached # 1 on MP3. "Nobody's There" can be heard in a new Warner Bros. T.V. series this fall (Oct. 2001) titled "Elimidate" on the W.B. network.
The bands latest, "Headed South" was released in August 2005
After six years together, the four guys in Blue Stew definitely have the blues thing figured out. They will be expanding their horizons with a party Thursday night at the Ban-Dar in Ventura to celebrate the release of their third CD, "Stumbling Blocks & Stepping Stones."
Imagine your favorite chair or your most comfortable pair of shoes as a band. Blue Stew has that smooth, cool blues groove going. They don't wail enough to break your eardrums, nor do they play so slow you get bored. And they ably mix styles such as T-Bone Walker, Jimmy Reed, Taj Mahal, Big Joe Turner and Freddy King.
01. Grateful (4:43)
02. Nobody's There (3:23)
03. My Baby's Cookin' (6:27)
04. She Makes Me Feel That Way (5:19)
05. To Get Your Attention (5:00)
06. Bringing Home The Blues (6:06)
07. Walkin' Shoes (4:02)
08. Better Off Alone (3:40)
09. Steppin' on Tracks (4:53)
10. Missing You (6:09)
11. Child Of The Street (4:15)
12. Why You Treat Me That Way (4:17)
13. Whooops (0:51)

No comments:

Post a Comment