Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Jimi HENDRIX, Little RICHARD - Friends From The Beginning 1965

Jimi HENDRIX, Little RICHARD - Friends From The Beginning 1965
1972 Issue.2C 062-93762


Here, in a special collection are some of the events that happened for an all too breif moment, when that wheeling comet-force met with another cosmic happening… Jimi Hendrix. Here are some of their rare moments together… two friends.
The review title is singular because it's unlikely that Maurice James (aka Jimi Hendrix) is on any tracks, although this researcher believes there's a chance he *is* on "Whole Lotta Shakin'", "Goin' Home Tomorrow", "Hound Dog", "Goodnight, Irene", and "Money Honey", because it's been written that he worked occasionally with Don and Dewey prior to joining LR full-time around 12-64/01-65. Also, the guitar solos on these tracks do not sound (to me) in the same style as what was heard on "Tutti Frutti" live in '64 (Ace Records Little Richard box from 1989). I guess I'll defer, though to the strong belief that Jimi does play on at least three classic Richard tunes recorded in New York City in May of 1965, including "I Don't Know What You've Got (But It's Got Me)", the penultimate soul ballad.
It must be said at this juncture that all of the above numbers first heard on a Vee Jay album in 1964 are presented here in long, stereo versions. (It appears that only *10* LR Vee Jays have been released in real stereo!).
A highlight is an alternate take [alternate edit?] of Hank Williams' "Why Don't You Love Me?", somewhat better than the cut pressed for the Reprise collection from 2005. A very impressive, new approach for the multi-faceted Architect - too bad a whole album of similarly re-imagined Country standards couldn't have been produced. (His "Southern Child" album, reportedly prepared for issue around the time of this Ala release, was all new, progressive tunes).
There are two especially curious instrumentals here, "Belle Stars" and "Funky Dish Rag" (both tracks are presumed to be alternate mixes of other-titled tunes on the Reprise set], which make one think that someone forgot to factor in a sax, piano, or guitar solo, so as give the listener the impression that they're listening to something more than a backing track. The non-singing workouts on "Lucille", "Keep A-Knockin'", and "Long Tall Sally" (titled "Tutti Frutti"), pulsatin' as they are, and probably including that keyboard man, are terribly undermined by a lead guitarist having to play by-the-numbers. In this case, we *can* say, no-way-that's-Jimi Hendrix!!
By Philip L. Silverman.
Little Richard– Vocals, piano (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11)
Dewey Terry- Guitar (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11)
Glen Willings- Guitar (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11)
Jimi Hendrix- Guitar (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11)
Don Sugarcane Harris- Bass, Violin (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7, 10 and 11)
Black Arthur- Guitar (tracks 3, 5, 8, 9 and 12)
Henry Oden- Bass (tracks 3, 5, 8, 9 and 12)
Drums- Unknown
A1. Whole Lotta Shakin'   3:01
A2. Goodnight Irene   2:49
A3. Keep a Knockin'   3:21
A4. Going Home Tomorrow   3:18
A5. Belle Stars   2:54
A6. Tutti Frutti   2:56
B1. Lawdy Miss Claudie   2:26
B2. Why Don't You Love Me   3:12
B3. Lucille   2:55
B4. Hound Dog   2:24
B5. Money Honey   2:26
B6. Funky Dish Rag   3:14


No comments:

Post a Comment