Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Monster Mike WELCH - Axe To Grind 1997

Monster Mike WELCH - Axe To Grind 1997


Up-and-coming guitar hero Monster Mike Welch (all of 17 years old) unleashes with a vengeance on his stinging sophomore outing Axe To Grind (Tone-Cool 1159; 48:29). He flaunts some impressive slide work on "Palm Of Her Hand" and digs into the slow bluesy title track with passion. The kid kills on shuffles like "Every Time You Lie" and the jaunty instrumental "Cruise Control." Unfortunately, his "vicious growl" still comes off as more affectation than real deal.
By Bill Milkowski.
Monster Mike Welch's scorching second CD, recorded when he was just 17 years old, is now available once again.
Welch’s influences date back to the young age of seven when a musical cousin turned him on to the Beatles. "To be seven and have a 13-year-old cousin who plays ‘Twist & Shout’ was the coolest thing," he says. He appropriated a used guitar in the closet and ran with it. And then he started to pilfer through his father’s record collection. "He had a prototypical ‘60s record collection—Beatles, Hendrix, every record Eric Clapton played on, plus one Muddy Waters, one Albert King, one Howlin’ Wolf and so on. From Cream’s version of ‘Crossroads,’ I sought out Robert Johnson. From 11 to 14, I was totally immersed in blues."
By the time Welch turned 15 and prepared to make his first album, These Blues Are Mine, his tastes had broadened. Rolling Stone called him "a young teen who can rip off the top of your head and cram your brains into your neck with his blues guitar work." He was named the winner of the "Outstanding Blues Act" category in the 1995 Boston Music Awards ands was featured on "Entertainment Tonight" and an HBO documentary on the life of Sonny Liston, and he shared the stage with heroes Johnny Clyde Copeland, Junior Wells, Hubert Sumlin and James Cotton.
A year later, the second album, Axe To Grind, was released to equal fanfare, solidifying his place as an artist to watch. He was profiled in Musician and on CNN, and named a "Best Bet For Stardom" in USA Today.
Monster Mike Welch- Guitar, Vocals,
Warren David Grant- Drums,
Jon RossBass- Bass (Upright), Bass (Electric),
George Lewis- Guitar, Guitar (Leslie), Guitar (Rhythm).
01. Did She Say 3:31
02. Palm Of Her Hand 3:07
03. Axe To Grind 4:59
04. The Elkmont Stomp 2:36
05. Every Time You Lie 3:11
06. Afraid Of My Own Tears 2:53
07. Take Your Best Shot 4:30
08. She Couldn't K#now 3:16
09. Time Stands Still 3:14
10. That's My Sin 4:33
11. My Emptiness 9:02
12. Cruise Control 3:32

No comments:

Post a Comment