Friday, February 5, 2010

Magic SAM - West Side Soul 1967

Magic SAM - West Side Soul 1967


Although singer/guitarist Magic Sam learned from the Chicago blues greats, his 1967 debut album, WEST SIDE SOUL, pretty much marks the dividing line between the classic Chicago style and what we know as contemporary electric blues today. His serpentine, tremolo-laden guitar style, somewhat akin to what his Cobra labelmate Otis Rush was doing around the same time, represented a new step in blues guitar and proved highly influential. The album is also remarkable for promulgating the merger between blues and soul that was still a new idea at the time.
Bass- Earnest Johnson (tracks: A2, A4 to B2, B4 to B6) , Mack Thompson (tracks: A1, A3, B3)
Drums- Odie Payne (tracks: A2, A4 to B2, B4 to B6) , Odie Payne, III* (tracks: A1, A3, B3)
Guitar- Mighty Joe Young
Piano- Stockholm Slim
Vocals, Guitar- Magic Sam
A1. That's All I Need 3:40
A2. I Need You So Bad 4:51
A3. I Feel So Good (I Wanna Boogie) 4:36
A4. All Of Your Love 3:43
A5. I Don't Want No Woman 3:38
B1. Sweet Home Chicago 4:11
B2. I Found A New Love 4:03
B3. Every Night And Every Day 2:19
B4. Lookin' Good (Instrumental) 3:11
B5. My Love Will Never Die 4:04
B6. Mama, Mama - Talk To Your Daughter 2:40

1 comment: