Thursday, January 7, 2010

Dizzy GILLESPIE - New Wave 1963

Dizzy GILLESPIE - New Wave 1963


It is such a pity that Dizzy Gillespie Philips' LPs have yet to be reissued on CD, for the trumpeter (45 at the time of this recording) was at the peak of his powers in the early '60s. On such songs as "In a Shanty in Old Shanty Town," "Careless Love," "One Note Samba" and the "Theme from Black Orpheus," Gillespie and his expanded quintet (with guests Bola Sete or Elec Bacsik on guitar and Charlie Ventura taking a memorable bass sax solo on "No More Blues-Part II") show a great deal of spirit and creativity. Leo Wright (on alto and flute) and pianist Lalo Schifrin are also in fine form throughout this gem.
By Scott Yanow, All Music Guide.
Chris White- Bass (A3)
Carmen Costa- Cabasa
Rudy Collins- Drums
Bola Sete- Guitar
José Paula- Guitar, Tambourine
Lalo Schifrin- Piano
Charlie Ventura , Leo Wright- Sax
Dizzy Gillespie- Trumpet
A1. Careless Love 6:16
A2. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues - Part II) 5:55
A3. Pergunte Ao Joao (Ask John) 2:57
B1. Tabu 3:00 
B2. Gee Baby Ain´t I Good To You 3:53
B3. One Note Samba 5:23
B4. Manha De Carnival (Morning Of The Carnival) (Theme From "Black Orpheus") 3:21 

No comments:

Post a Comment