Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry - Climbin' Up 1952-1955

Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry - Climbin' Up 1952-1955


Nice collection of 1952-1955 sides with an urban blues twist by McGhee, with Terry's contributions limited to harmonica only and guitarists Stick McGhee and Mickey Baker checking in over the course of the dozen entries. McGhee was a world-class electric bluesman, too a fact that frequently gets lost in the folk-slanted duo material he cut with longtime partner Terry.
By Bill Dahl, AMG.
Brownie McGhee- (Guitar and Vocal)
Sonny Terry- (Harmonica) - 1-4,9-12
Sticks McGhee- (Guitar) - 5-8
Ernie Hayes- (Piano) - 8,10-12
Mickey Baker- (Guitar) - 8,10-12
Leonard Gaskin- (Bass) - 8,10-12
Gene Brooks- (Drums) - 8,10-12
Larry McCray- Guitar, Vocals
A1. Gone Baby Gone 2:58
A2. Tell Me Baby 2:54
A3. Sittin' Pretty 2:31
A4. Bottom Blues 2:47
A5. Dissatisfied Blues 2:51
A6. Diamond Ring 3:15
B1. The Way I Feel 2:53
B2. So Much Trouble 2:52
B3. When It's Love Time 2:33
B4. I'd Love to Love You 2:57
B5. Love's a Disease 2:47
B6. My Fault 2:29

No comments:

Post a Comment