Monday, January 18, 2010

Tom WAITS – Downtown Blues 1974-1975

Tom WAITS – Downtown Blues 1974-1975
All Credits Go To *janwal46*


This rare bootleg CD of 2 live recordings, made at Ebbets Field in 1974 (see also The Dime-Store Novels Vol. 1), and Denver in 1975. Another must have for the Waits fan and/or collector.

Thomas Alan "Tom" Waits (born December 7, 1949) is an American singer-songwriter, composer and actor. Waits has a distinctive voice, described by critic Daniel Durchholz as sounding "like it was soaked in a vat of bourbon, left hanging in the smokehouse for a few months, and then taken outside and run over with a car."[1] With this trademark growl, his incorporation of pre-rock music styles such as blues, jazz, and vaudeville, and experimental tendencies verging on industrial music,[2] Waits has built up a distinctive musical persona. He has worked as a composer for movies and musical plays and as a supporting actor in films, including Down By Law and Bram Stoker's Dracula. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his soundtrack work on One from the Heart.
Lyrically, Waits' songs frequently present atmospheric portrayals of grotesque, often seedy characters and places – although he has also shown a penchant for more conventional ballads. He has a cult following and has influenced subsequent songwriters despite having little radio or music video support. His songs are best-known to the general public in the form of cover versions by more visible artists, "Jersey Girl," performed by Bruce Springsteen and "Downtown Train," performed by Rod Stewart. Although Waits' albums have met with mixed commercial success in his native United States, they have occasionally achieved gold album sales status in other countries. He has been nominated for a number of major music awards and has won Grammy Awards for two albums, Bone Machine and Mule Variations.
Waits currently lives in Sonoma County, California with his wife, Kathleen Brennan, and three children.
01. I Hope That I Don't Fall In Love for You
02. San Diego Serenade
03. Good Night Loving Trail
04. Diamonds on My Windsheild
05. Ice Cream Man
06. Please Call Me Baby
07. Better off Without a Wife
08. The Ghost of Saturday Night
09. Big Joe & Phantom 309
10. Truck Driving Man
11. 01' '55
12. On a Foggy Night
13. Martha
14. Eggs & Sausages
15. New Coat of Paint
16. Night Hawk Postcards
17. Looking for the Heart of Saturday Night
18. Ice Cream Man (2)
19. San Diego Serenade (2)
20. 01' '55 (2)

No comments:

Post a Comment