Friday, January 22, 2010

Don CHERRY - New York Total Music Company 1968

Don CHERRY - New York Total Music Company 1968
Frankfurt, Germany,
11. Deutsches Jazzfestival 1968
This is an FM broadcast of the group's performance at the 11th German Jazzfestival on 24 March 1968. My guess is that it was transmitted by hessischer rundfunk (hr2) on 10 March 2008.
Thanks to *Jazzrita*


Trumpeter Don Cherry might have honed his craft when he played with Ornette Coleman in the late ’50s and early ’60s but he did not hesitate to flex his musical muscles on his own.
To call Cherry a trumpet player is not only misleading but does a great injustice to the musician. While he played the trumpet and cornet and assorted flutes, he was adept at the piano and even experimented with electronics.
So it was not a great surprise to find Cherry performing a free jazz-ish set with Steve Lacy at the Deutsches Jazzfestival in Frankfurt in March 1968 and then record the world-fusion Eternal Sunshine in November (with Albert Mangelsdorff and Sonny Sharrock among others).
In an interview, Cherry said: “The form of jazz where you had the composition, then the sax solo, trumpet solo, piano solo, drum solo, then trade fours - that concept doesn’t open up for surprises. And surprise is, to me, one of the most important things in life, for inspiration. I would write compositions so I could change those compositions. Or I’d have one artist solo in one piece and out of that piece we’d go to another, maybe never going back to what we started with.”
Not only that, Cherry appeared to be a very fair leader, allowing every member here to shine and the intricate interaction among the players was not lost on the appreciative Frankfurt audience. Listening to this set, one can just picture Cherry with a twinkle in his eye and a smile on his face.
Don Cherry died in Spain in 1995 due to liver failure. He was 58.
Don Cherry- Cornet, Bamboo Flute
Steve Lacy- Sax
Karl Berger- Vibes, Piano
Kent Carter- Bass (thanks to Luis Torregrosa for clarifying the name)
Jacques Thollot- Drums  
01. Tune In (KB,comp) 06:01
02. A New Folk (DCh,comp) 12:23
03. Bird Suite (KB,comp) 07:13
04. Going Home (KB,comp) (fade-out) 04:14  

No comments:

Post a Comment