Sunday, January 31, 2010

Jimmy DAWKINS - Fast Fingers 1969

Jimmy DAWKINS - Fast Fingers 1969


Released in 1969, after guitarist Jimmy Dawkins had served a long apprenticeship as a sideman in the Chicago electric blues scene, Fast Fingers remains one of the finest pure electric blues albums of its era. Dawkins proves to be a solid songwriter and an able singer, although the best moments on the album invariably come when he tears off a casually perfect, deeply soulful, but never showy electric solo. Highlights include the stomping instrumental "Triple Trebles," featuring an outstanding Dawkins solo over a funky horn-driven rhythm, and the mellow, laid-back opener, "It Serves Me Right to Suffer."
Jimmy Dawkins- (Vocals, Guitar);
Mighty Joe Young- (Guitar);
Eddie Shaw- (Tenor Sax);
Lafayette Leake- (Piano, Organ);
Joe Harper, Ernest Gatewood- (Bass);
Lester Dorsie- (Drums).
A1. It Serves Me Right to Suffer  4:07
A2. I Wonder Why  3:05
A3. I'm Good for Nothing  5:12
A4. Triple Trebles  2:42
A5. I Finally Learned a Lesson  3:43
B1. You Got to Keep on Trying  4:12
B2. Night Rock  3:26
B3. Little Angel Child  3:55
B4. I Don't Know What Love Is  5:57
B5. Breaking Down  5:31