Friday, January 8, 2010

Art BLAKEY - Indestructible 1965

Art BLAKEY - Indestructible 1965
BLP 4193


Art Blakey's "Indestructible!" was recorded over three sessions in the spring of 1964 for Blue Note. The drummer's final album for the label, it was also the last featuring the great sextet line-up. "Indestructible!" was originally released on CD in the late 1980s (and briefly again in the early 90s in the Collector's Choice reprint program), but apparently the bean-counters at Capitol didn't heed the album's title, because it was unceremoniously deleted more than a dozen years ago. Well, thankfully it makes a welcome return to the catalog here in the RVG series, with remastered sound to boot. Unfortunately, "Indestructible!" has too often sat in the shadows of its remarkable predecessors, "Mosaic" and "Free For All." It has done so needlessly because "Indestructible!" is a truly first rate modern jazz album, with memorable original compositions, incredible front-line interplay and soaring solos. The majority of the band -- Wayne Shorter, Curtis Fuller, Cedar Walton and Art -- had been working together for over three years and their chemistry is unparalleled. And while Lee Morgan does replace Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, and Reggie Workman the bass for Jymie Merritt, both "newcomers" had actually been members of the Jazz Messengers during large portions of the previous five years. Hopefully with its permanent return to the catalog,
"Indestructible!" will gain its rightful place among the greatest Blue Note discs of all-time.
By Michael B. Richman.
Art Blakey- (Drums);
Wayne Shorter- (Tenor saxophone);
Lee Morgan- (Trumpet);
Curtis Fuller- (Trombone);
Cedar Walton- (Piano);
Reggie Workman- (Bass).
A1 The Egyptian   10:24
A2 Sortie   8:11
B1 Calling Miss Khadija   7:20
B2 When Love Is New   6:00
B3 Mr. Jin   7:04

No comments:

Post a Comment