Monday, April 5, 2010

ERIC CLAPTON & Jeff BECK - Listen To Jeff, Eric! 2009

ERIC CLAPTON & Jeff BECK - Listen To Jeff, Eric! 2009
Live at the Saitama Super Arena, Saitama, Japan. February 22, 2009.
(Don´t Remember ,Who Sent This..)


On the second night in Saitama, both Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck delivered an assured and entertaining show. These are pros and fans can expect no less. For his set, Jeff Beck added Big Block and Where Were You while omitting Blue Wind. Clapton included crowd pleasers such as Key To The Highway, I Shot The Sheriff and Wonderful Tonight while giving Little Queen Of Spades and Before You Accuse Me a rest. The setlist for the Clapton-Beck portion remained the same as the first night.

This is what an enthusiastic Jii Aoi wrote on the Clapton fansite, “As if Eric’s presence was a catalyst, Jeff returned to his blues/soul/R&B roots and found out his alter-ego. He bent, bent and then bent the strings, something he wouldn’t do as much on his usual performances; throwing blues licks one after another, blow by blow indeed. ‘Breathtaking’ is the word that is apt to describe his solos tonight. No one will ever forget his bulldozing sonic assault in Brown Bird, the very instant he finished it, Eric called out, ‘Jeff Beck!’ and the loud cheers erupted from the whole crowd that filled the arena. Tonight, Jeff was not so much the smart fusion/crossover guitar virtuoso, as we have recognized him for the last 30 years or so, as a tough blues-gut rocker that he was in the ’60s a la The Yardbirds and The Jeff Beck Group. In turn, Eric replied with an aggressive solo in the next tune, Wee Wee Baby. Oh yeah, together they took us higher!”
Jeff Beck- Guitar
Tal Wilkenfeld- Bass
David Sancious- Keyboards
Vinnie Colaiuta- Drums
Disc 1 [Jeff Beck & his band main set]:
01. The Pump
02. You Never Know
03. Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers
04. Stratus
05. Angel
06. Led Boots
07. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat - Brush With The Blues
08. Solo instrumental
09. A Day In The Life
10. Big Block
11. Where Were You
12. Peter Gunn Theme
Eric Clapton- Guitar & Vocals
Doyle Bramhall II- Guitar & Backing Vocals
Chris Stainton- Keyboards
Willie Weeks- Bass
Abe Laboriel Jr.- Drums
Michelle John- Backing Vocals
Sharon White- Backing Vocals
Disc 2 [Eric Clapton & his band main set]:
01. Driftin’ Blues
02. Layla (acoustic)
03. Motherless Child
04. Running On Faith
05. Tell The Truth
06. Key To The Highway
07. I Shot The Sheriff
08. Wonderful Tonight
09. Cocaine
10. Crossroads
11. “will see you in a couple of minutes” - short break
Disc 3 [Eric Clapton & his band with Jeff Beck]:
01. You Need Love
02. Listen Here - Compared To What
03. Here But I’m Gone
04. Outside Woman Blues
05. Brown Bird
06. Wee Wee Baby
07. Want To Take You Higher


No comments:

Post a Comment