Sunday, November 29, 2009

Ricky FORD - Manhattan Blues 1989

Ricky FORD - Manhattan Blues 1989


Ricky Ford is a musician of several substantial parts. A powerful tenor saxophonist, he has worked with the Mercer Ellington-led Duke Ellington band, Charles Mingus, the Mingus Dynasty, Lionel Hampton, the Newport All Stars and Abdullah Ibrahim. He also leads his own groups and is an original, continually searching composer as is evident in this set of originals.

Joining Ford on this set is Jaki Byard on piano, Milton Hinton on bass and Ben Riley on drums. Here, are four musicians with full and exhilarating command of their considerable resources.
Ricky Ford- Tenor Sax
Jaki Byard- Piano
Milt Hinton- Bass
Ben Riley- Drums
A1. In Walked Bud 8:09
A2. Misty 7:46
A3. Ode to Crispus Attucks 5:45

B1. Bop Nouveau 4:35
B2. My Little Strayhorn 6:00
B3. Manhattan Blues 6:28
B4. Half Nelson 6:01

No comments:

Post a Comment