Sunday, November 22, 2009

Blind Willie JOHNSON - Praise God I'm Satisfied 1989

Blind Willie JOHNSON - Praise God I'm Satisfied 1989


Yazoo's Praise God I'm Satisfied is an excellent collection of 14 tracks Blind Willie Johnson recorded in the '30s, including such numbers as "Jesus Make Up My Dying Bed," "Praise God I'm Satisfied," "Rain Don't Fall on Me" and "Jesus Is Coming Soon." These are excellent, haunting recordings, boasting some stellar guitar work, but everything that's on this disc and its companion, Sweeter as the Years Go By, is included on Columbia/Legacy's The Complete Recordings of Blind Willie Johnson, which makes this unnecessary for any serious listener.~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide
01. Jesus Make up My Dying Bed.  Johnson, Traditional  3:13
02. Dark Was the Night (Cold Was the Ground).  Johnson  3:20
03. Praise God I'm Satisfied.  Johnson, Traditional  3:10
04. Bye and Bye I'm Goin' to See the King.  Johnson, Traditional  2:53
05. You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond.  Johnson  3:11
06. When the War Was On.  Johnson  3:01
07. God Moves on the Water.  Johnson, Moore  2:59
08. I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole.  Johnson, Traditional  3:04
09. God Don't Never Change.  Johnson  2:53
10. The Rain Don't Fall on Me.  Johnson, Traditional  3:19
11. Nobody's Fault But Mine.  Johnson, Traditional  3:10
12. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning.  Davis, Johnson, Traditional  3:04
13. Jesus Is Coming Soon.  Johnson, Traditional  3:12
14. Mother's Children Have a Hard Time.  Johnson, Traditional  3:20

No comments:

Post a Comment