Thursday, November 26, 2009

New York Trio - Stairway To The Stars 2006

New York Trio - Stairway To The Stars 2006


The New York Trio has produced a series of enjoyable session for Venus since the beginning of the 21st century. Consisting of pianist Bill Charlap, bassist Jay Leonhart and drummer Bill Stewart,concentrating on accessible treatments of selections from the Great American Songbook. The opening track, "Lover, Come Back to Me," is a swinging affair, with lots of amusing quotes inserted into the mix. "Stairway to the Stars" is suitably a dreamy interpretation, full of romance and gorgeous voicings by Charlap. The bittersweet ballad "I'll Be Seeing You" (forever associated with World War II films where the soldier leaves his love) is a solo feature for Charlap, played with tenderness. "Body and Soul" is one of the most recorded songs in jazz history, but the trio's rendition is worthwhile, even if little new ground is broken. This well-played collection of timeless ballads is perfect for unwinding at the end of the day.
By Ken Dryden.
Bill Charlap- Piano
Jay Leonhart- Bass
Bill Stewart- Drums
01. Lover Come Back To Me (S. Romberg)
02. Stairway To The Stars (M. Malneck, F. Signorelli)
03. Lullaby Of The Leaves (B. Petkere)
04. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (J. Kern)
05. I'll Be Seeing You (S. Fain)
06. Can't Help Loving Dat Man (J. Kern)
07. Body And Soul (J. Green)
08. The Man I Love (G. Gershwin)
09. A Sleeping Bee (H. Arlen)
10. Stella By Starlight (V. Young)

No comments:

Post a Comment