Monday, March 1, 2010

Susan MAUGHAN - Hey Look Me Over 1967

Susan MAUGHAN - Hey Look Me Over 1967
2007 Issue.UICY-6750


Susan Maughan turns on, tunes in and drops out with Hey Look at Me, the kind of self-consciously groovy vocal jazz set that is unmistakably the product of Swingin' London circa 1967. A square, frustratingly sentimental singer on previous LPs, Maughan digs into pop hits like "There's a Kind of Hush" and "I'm a Believer" with gusto, but what pulls the record back from the precipice of kitsch is the smart, sophisticated arrangements of pianist Laurie Holloway, who manages to generate some truly soulful moments.
By Jason Ankeny. AMG.
01. Hey Look Me Over (1:40)
02. Great Day (2:44)
03. I'm A Believer (2:03)
04. More (2:29)
05. On Green Dolphin Street (2:59)
06. I'm All Smiles (3:10)
07. Let's Fall In Love (2:00)
08. Call Me (3:00)
09. Matchmaker, Matchmaker (2:29)
10. There's A Kind Of Hush (2:51)
11. Cute (2:14)
12. Softly As I Leave You (2:05)


No comments:

Post a Comment