Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Luther "Guitar Jr." JOHNSON - Slammin' On The West Side 1996

Luther "Guitar Jr." JOHNSON - Slammin' On The West Side 1996


What you'll really love about this CD is the many styles of Blues that Johnson explores in less than twenty songs; you'll get the famous West Side (Chicago) Electric Blues, Acoustic Blues, well done Blues covers, pseudo-jump blues and songs that will make your speakers start dancing. This CD is a must have for fans of Electric Blues. Play this CD at your next party all the way through......twice, and then some.
Lousy album title, great album. Johnson hasn't been based out of Chicago in years, but that sound remains at the heart of his approach -- even when he's recording in Louisiana with a funky New Orleans rhythm section (bassist George Porter, Jr. and drummer Herman Ernest). Jump blues in the form of Buddy Johnson's "A Pretty Girl (A Cadillac and Some Money)," athe Magic Sam tribute "Hard Times (Have Surely Come)," the solo acoustic "Get Up Aand Go," a soul-slanted "Every Woman Needs to Be Loved", Johnson smokes 'em all.
By Bill Dahl, All Music Guide.
Luther "Guitar Jr." JOHNSON- Vocals & Guitar
Gordon Beadle- Tenor Sax
Eric Moore- Piano
Dave Torkanowsky- Organ
George Porter Jr- Bass
Herman Ernest- Drums
01. A Pretty Girl (A Cadillac and Some Money) 3:12
02. She's Lookin' Good 3:56
03. Hey Little Girl 5:00
04. I Ain't Doin' Too Bad 4:56
05. It's Good To Me 3:28
06. Sittin' on The Back Seat of a Greyhound 6:27
07. Every Woman Needs To Be Loved 4:00
08. Stranded 3:22
09. Early in The Mornin' Blues 5:00
10. Another Man 2:19
11. Hard Times (Have Surely Come) 4:30
12. The Woman I Love 3:49
13. Get up and Go 2:03
14. Why (Am I Treated So Bad) 2:58
15. Waiting at The Station 5:47
16. Meet Me With Your Black Drawers On 3:52


No comments:

Post a Comment