Thursday, March 25, 2010

John DANKWORTH - What the Dickens! 1963

John DANKWORTH - What the Dickens! 1963
STKL 5203


Most of the world knows Dankworth best as Cleo Laine's longtime husband and accompanist, but he's been a steady, if not especially inventive player for many decades. He started his career in novelty and traditional ensemble called The Garbage Men led by Freddy Mirfield. Dankworth studied at the Royal Academy of Music from 1944 - 1946, then took playing jobs on transatlantic liners in order to come to America and hear jazz. He switched to alto sax in the late '40s, aand in 1948 was a founding member of the Club Eleven. He began the Johnny Dankworth Seven in 1950, and from 1953 to 1964 led a large jazz band featuring his wife Cleo Laine. A numbe of top players passed through, among them Derek Smith, Alan Branscombe, Danny Moss, Peter King, Ronnie Ross and current comic/actor Dudley Moore. Dankworth became Laine's music director in 1971 and trimmed the band down to 10 pieces. Then in the early '80s he formed a touring quintet. Dankworth's profile as a composer is bigger than as a player; he's written operatic works, pieces for a jazz band with symphony orchestra and film scores. He and Laine formed The Wavendon Allmusic Plan, a cultural organization attracting international performers from every sphere appearing in its 300 seat concert hall, in 1969. Dankworth has also done hundreds of lectures and conducted classes, workshops and seminars. He was honored for his contributions to jazz in England in 1974.
By Ron Wynn. AMG.
Bass- Ken Napper , Spike Heatley
Drums- Johnny Butts , Ronnie Stephenson
Harp- David Snell (2)
Percussion- Roy Webster
Piano, Vibraphone, Xylophone- Alan Branscombe
Saxophone [Alto], Clarinet- Johnny Dankworth
Saxophone [Alto], Clarinet, Flute- Roy East
Saxophone [Baritone]- Ronnie Ross
Saxophone [Tenor]- Bobby Wellins , Dick Morrissey , Peter King (2) , Ronnie Scott , Tubby Hayes
Saxophone [Tenor], Clarinet- Tony Coe , Vic Ash
Saxophone [Tenor], Clarinet [Bass Clarinet]- Art Ellefson
Trombone- Ed Harvey , Tony Russell
Trumpet- Gus Galbraith , Jimmy Deuchar
Trumpet, Flugelhorn- Leon Calvert
Trumpet, Tuba [Tenor Horn]- Dick Hawdon , Ken Wheeler
Tuba- Ron Snyder
A1. Prologue (2:26) 
A2. Weller Never Did (Pickwick Papers) (1:58) 
A3. Little Nell (The Old Curiosity Shop) (2:51) 
A4. The Infant Phenomenon (Nicholas Nickleby) (2:12) 
A5. Demdest Little Fascinator (Nicholas Nickleby) (3:09) 
A6. Dothebys Hall (Oliver Twist) (4:24) 
A7. Ghosts (A Christmas Carol) (2:23) 
B1. David And The Bloaters (David Copperfield) (2:57)  
B2. Please Sir, I Want Some More (Oliver Twist) (2:01) 
B3. The Artful Dodger (Oliver Twist) (1:39) 
B4. Waiting For Something To Turn Up (David Copperfield) (2:46) 
B5. Dodson And Fogg (Pickwick Papers) (1:15)  
B6. The Pickwick Club (Pickwick Papers) (3:15) 
B7. Sergeant Buzfuz (Pickwick Papers) (2:15) 
B8. Finale (2:29)

DLink MU
DLink FF

No comments:

Post a Comment