Friday, October 30, 2009

Herbie MANN - Memphis Underground 1969

Herbie MANN - Memphis Underground 1969


Herbie Mann has always been open to new trends in his music. For this 1969 studio session, he and three other top soloists (vibraphonist Roy Ayers and guitarists Larry Coryell and Sonny Sharrock) went down to Memphis and combined their talents with a topnotch local rhythm section. The music effectively mixes R&B and country rhythms with the lead jazz voices, although the material, which includes "Memphis Underground," "Hold On! I'm Comin'," and "Chain of Fools," is rather weak.
By Scott Yanow, All Music Guide.
Herbie Mann– Flute
Roy Ayers– Vibes, Conga on "Battle Hymn of the Republic"
Larry Coryell– Guitar
Sonny Sharrock– Guitar
Miroslav Vitouš- "Fender bass" on "Hold On, I'm Comin'"
The Memphis rhythm section;
Reggie Young– Guitar
Bobby Emmons– Organ
Bobby Wood– Electric and Acoustic Piano
Gene Christman– Drums
Tommy Cogbill or Mike Leech- "Fender bass" (individual tracks not specified)

(Fender bass" mentioned on the album's credits is a slang term for "bass guitar", commonly used by musicians, arrangers and producers in the 1950s and 60's. It was used to specify that an electric bass (as opposed to an acoustic instrument) was desired for a session. The word "Fender" refers to the creator of the first mass-produced instrument, Leo Fender, but does not necessarily mean that an instrument manufactured by the Fender company was used on the session)
01. Memphis Underground (7:07)
02. New Orleans (2:07)
03. Hold On, I'm Comin' (8:52)
04. Chain of Fools (10:42)
05. Battle Hymn of the Republic (7:12)

No comments:

Post a Comment