Tuesday, February 24, 2009

dZihan and Kamien - Freaks & Icons - 2000

Original Release Date: October 10, 2000
Label: Six Degrees
Genre: Electronica
Styles: Club/Dance, Downtempo, House, Trip-Hop

Vlado dZihan, from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, was raised in a musical family and was known in the local scene as a drummer. He recorded music for the film Arizona Dream, starring Johnny Depp and Faye Dunaway. Mario Kamien, German-born and raised in Switzerland, met dZihan while they were studying in Vienna. Both were interested in traditional Arabic music and Trip hop , and combined their interests and musical backgrounds in the production of their first album, Freaks & Icons.

dZihan & Kamien pronounced (pronounced Jee-hahn and Kammy-en) are a downtempo house and acid jazz music duo based in Vienna, Austria. Their sound has been described as having "jazzy texture, trip-hop rhythms and Eastern ambience". Their first production single, Der Bauch, released in 1996 under the name MC Sultan, was popular in European clubs and was included on several compilations.

dZihan & Kamien's first debut album, Freaks & Icons, was released in 2000 on their label, Couch Records. The group followed their debut with two more albums, Refreaked in 2001 and Gran Riserva, with a more jazzy sound, in 2002. All three albums were released in the U.S. under the label of Six Degrees Records.


01. After
02. Dabudei
03. Streets of Istanbul
04. Before
05. Homebase
06. I Guess She...
07. Slowhand Hussein
08. Just You & I
09. Colores
10. Ocean Air
11. Smile
12. Where Are We?
13. Spacewater

No comments:

Post a Comment